16 PhD Studentships across Design and related areas of HCI & Social Computing at Northumbria University, UK

Northumbria University (Newcastle upon Tyne, UK) has 16 PhD studentships available in design and related areas of human-computer interaction, social computing and psychology. Each studentship includes a full stipend, paid for three years at RCUK rates for 2017/18 (this is yet to be set, in 2016/17 this is £14,296 pa) and fees (Home/EU £4,350 / International £13,000 / International Lab-based £16,000). The deadline for applications is 20th January 2017, with each studentship due to commence in October 2017.

Each of the named supervisors would be very happy to discuss the proposed projects with prospective applicants, and there is a great degree of flexibility within each of the topics. Please see the links below and get in touch with the named contacts for further information.

Design to Support Online Identity Management for Women Living with HIV
https://www.findaphd.com/search/ProjectDetails.aspx?PJID=81632&LID=1151
Contact Abigail Durrant: abigail.durrant@northumbria.ac.uk

Designing for Crowdfunding Social Innovation
https://www.findaphd.com/search/ProjectDetails.aspx?PJID=81639&LID=1151
Contact Jo Briggs: jo.briggs@northumbria.ac.uk

Participatory Design Fiction for Alternate Civics
https://www.findaphd.com/search/ProjectDetails.aspx?PJID=81641&LID=1151
Contact John Vines: john.vines@northumbria.ac.uk

The value of craft sensibilities in technology orientated Maker and Hack communities
https://www.findaphd.com/search/ProjectDetails.aspx?PJID=81645&LID=1151
Contact Justin Marshall: justin.marshall@northumbria.ac.uk

Crafting anatomies – exploring the relationship between the human form and habits through the complimentary lens of fashion design, aesthetics, innovative material structuring and computer simulation
https://www.findaphd.com/search/ProjectDetails.aspx?PJID=81581&LID=1151
Contact Raymond Oliver: raymond.oliver@northumbria.ac.uk

How does Design Thinking create value in SMEs?
https://www.findaphd.com/search/ProjectDetails.aspx?PJID=81800&LID=1151
Contact Stuart English: stuart.english@northumbria.ac.uk

Smart ways for engaging customers in design process
https://www.findaphd.com/search/ProjectDetails.aspx?PJID=81798&LID=1151
Contact Sheng-Feng Qin: Sheng-feng.Qin@northumbria.ac.uk

Exploring the value(s) of design-led Innovation Practice
https://www.findaphd.com/search/ProjectDetails.aspx?PJID=81650&LID=1151
Contact Neil Smith: neil.smith@northumbria.ac.uk

Human Building Interactions
https://www.findaphd.com/search/ProjectDetails.aspx?PJID=81716&LID=2712
Contact Leslie McIntyre: lesley.mcintyre@northumbria.ac.uk

‘Entangled Things’ to Ameliorate Older Age Isolation
https://www.findaphd.com/search/ProjectDetails.aspx?PJID=81827&LID=2712
Contact Dave Kirk: david.kirk@northumbria.ac.uk

Social computing for food and sustainable living
https://www.findaphd.com/search/ProjectDetails.aspx?PJID=81718&LID=2712
Contact Adrian Clear: adrian.clear@northumbria.ac.uk

Whole Body Interactions: standing user interfaces for the next generation interaction
https://www.findaphd.com/search/ProjectDetails.aspx?PJID=81586&LID=2712
Contact Nick Dalton: nick.dalton@northumbria.ac.uk

Digital Risks for Older Adults
https://www.findaphd.com/search/ProjectDetails.aspx?PJID=81624&LID=2714
Contact Pam Briggs: p.briggs@northumbria.ac.uk

What is the role of brokers and brokerage in the appropriation of Assistive Technologies in dementia care?
https://www.findaphd.com/search/ProjectDetails.aspx?PJID=81619&LID=2714
Contact Katie Brittain: katie.brittain@northumbria.ac.uk

Could Skype/FaceTime combat loneliness in the elderly?
https://www.findaphd.com/search/ProjectDetails.aspx?PJID=81630&LID=2714
Contact Thomas Pollet: thomas.pollet@northumbria.ac.uk

The impact of social media outreach and engagement on health information seeking and risk perceptions during infectious disease outbreaks
https://www.findaphd.com/search/ProjectDetails.aspx?PJID=81625&LID=2714
Contact Santosh Vijaykumar: santosh.viiavkumar@northumbria.ac.uk

northhumbria

 

Not a Member yet? Apply here!

Partners

partner logo
partner logo
partner logo
partner logo
partner logo
partner logo
partner logo
partner logo
partner logo
partner logo
partner logo
partner logo
partner logo
partner logo
partner logo
partner logo
partner logo
partner logo
partner logo
partner logo

Other organisations

partner logo
partner logo